US COPD Coalition

Rep. David Joyce Signs On As Caucus Co-Chair


Representative David Joyce (R-OH) has agreed to serve as Co-Chair of the Congressional COPD Caucus

Representative Joyce represents Ohio’s 14th district and serves on the House Appropriations Committee and the following subcommittees; Interior, Labor, Health and Human Services, and Transportation, Housing and Urban Development. The U.S. COPD Coalition is looking forward to working with Representative Joyce and is excited for the experience and dedication he will undoubtedly exhibit as Co-Chair.

Representative Joyce joins Representative John Lewis (D-GA) House Co-Chairs and Senators Mike Crapo (R-ID) Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Senate Co-Chairs. In addition to the Co-Chairs, the Congressional Caucus is comprised of ten Senators and twenty-eight Representatives from both sides of the aisle.

The Congressional COPD Caucus was created in 2004 by Senator Mike Crapo to be a bi-partisan, bi-cameral caucus committed to creating and passing COPD legislation. The Caucus has been successful in ushering a number of COPD bills through Congress including legislation to ease air travel with supplemental oxygen, make pulmonary rehabilitation a permanent benefit to Medicare beneficiaries, and enhance data collection addressing COPD as a public health issue.

To help the U.S. COPD Coalition and Congressional COPD Caucus visit the COPD Action Center to send an email to your members asking them to join the Caucus or thank them for continued support as Caucus members. While there check out the many Action Alerts that feature COPD related legislation that is currently in Congress and ask your elected officials take action.